The Canberra Region Medical Education Council (CRMEC) has been established by the Minister for Health, as a Ministerial Management Council.


Key Responsibilities

The CRMEC role is to act as a Postgraduate* Medical Council to:

  • Perform accreditation functions of the intern training program within the ACT and linked regional networks
  • Provide expert advice to the Minister for Health regarding the quality of education, training and welfare for junior medical officers within the ACT and linked regional networks
  • Provide leadership in postgraduate medical education and training in the ACT and linked regional networks
  • Undertake the accreditation and monitoring of individual junior medical officer terms and the clinical units, facilities and networks that support them using national and jurisdictional standards, with a focus on:
    • Accreditation and monitoring of terms for prevocational junior medical officers
    • Developing training standards and accreditation processes for prevocational junior medical officers
    • Identify, evaluate, monitor and promote medical education and training programs for junior medical officers and their educators in conjunction with key stakeholders.

*Postgraduate refers to doctors who have completed a medical degree


2021 Council Meeting Dates

  • Wednesday, 08 December 2021, 5.30 - 7.00pm
  • Wednesday, 30 March 2022, 5.30 – 7.30pm
  • Wednesday, 08 June 2022, 5.30-7.30pm
  • Wednesday, 21 September 2022, 5.30-7.30pm
  • Wednesday, 07 December 2022, 5.30 – 7.30pm


11 March 2020

5:00 – 7:00pm


20 May 2020

5:00 – 7:00pm


29 July 2020

5:00 – 7:00pm


30 September 2020

5:00 – 7:00pm


2 December 2020

5:00 – 7:00pm


CRMEC Standards

CRMEC Accreditation Standards


Board Membership

Ministerial appointments to the Council

Professor Nicholas Glasgow, Chair, CRMEC; Emeritus Professor, Australian National University

Professor Amanda Barnard, Dean, Rural Clinical School & Indigenous Health, ANU Medical School

Jenny Berrill, Community representative

Dr Ava Carter, Junior doctor representative

Dr Belinda Doherty, Director of Medical Services, Shoalhaven LHD

Dr Cameron Maxwell, Anaesthetics Fellow, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital

Dr Carolyn Petersons, Deputy Director, Diabetes and Endocrinology, and Director of Diabetes, The Canberra Hospital

Dr Kitiphume Thammasiraphop, Junior doctor representative

Dr Emily Walsh, Junior doctor representative

Ex-officio meeting attendees

JMO Forum Chair – Dr Sophia Fitt

Intern representative– Dr James Miller

Medical Education Advisor – Associate Professor Katrina Anderson


Terms of Reference

CRMEC Terms of Reference



The CRMEC is supported by the Secretariat

Manager, CRMEC

Professor Emily Haesler


Phone: 02-512-42946


Governance and Committees

Governance Structure

Accreditation Committee

Education Committee


Strategic Plan

  • Accreditation
  • Supervisor Professional Development
  • JMO Welfare & Professional Development
  • Governance and Stakeholder Partnerships


In the spirit of reconciliation the CRMEC acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.