Accreditation Committee

The Accreditation Committee is accountable to the Canberra Region Medical Education Council (CRMEC) for the development of standards and accreditation of training positions and institutions.

CRMEC Accreditation Standards



The functions of the Accreditation Committee are to:

  • Provide expert advice to the CRMEC on matters relating to accreditation of prevocational medical training and undertake accreditation and monitoring of prevocational trainee medical posts, clinical units, facilities and networks with the ACT Network

  • Development of processes, guidelines and standards for postgraduate medical training accreditation which are consistent with the national accreditation guidelines and frameworks

  • Assessment of applications for accreditation of positions against current standards by document review and site visits as appropriate

  • Advise the ACT Board of the Medical Board of Australia on the institutional requirements for intern training


Accreditation Committee Members

Jenny Berrill – Consumer representative

Dr Ava Carter, Junior Medical Officer representative

Dr Jamie Christie – Senior staff specialist, Canberra Health Services

Dr Rob Griffin – Chair, Medical coordinator and surveyor at Australian Council on HealthCare Standards

Dr Nick Holt, Junior Medical Officer representative

Dr Cameron Maxwell – Senior resident, The Canberra Hospital

Dr Farah Sethna, Staff specialist, The Canberra Hospital

Dr Mechelle Smith Senior Staff Specialist, Calvary Public Hospital Bruce

Dr George Zhang, Junior Medical Officer representative


Accreditation Committee TOR

CRMEC Terms of Reference


Accreditation policies, resources and forms

In June 2020 the CRMEC completed a comprehensive review of procedures and endorsed adoption of a four-year accreditation cycle. All policies and procedures are currently being reviewed and updated to reflect this change. Please contact the CRMEC Manager if you have a specific query regarding Accreditation procedures.






Upcoming CRMEC Accreditation Committee Meetings

Proviso reports, changes of circumstance and any other business must be received by the CRMEC office 2 weeks prior to meeting dates.


11 February 2020

5.30 – 7.00pm


21 April 2020

5:30 – 7:00pm


23 June 2020

5:30  – 7:00pm


1 September 2020

5:30  – 7:00pm


10 November 2020

5:30  – 7:00pm


Accredited Training Terms

CRMEC Register of terms June 2020

Accreditation Status

South East Regional Hospital

South East Regional Hospital was awarded a three year accreditation in September 2018. 
The hospital is due to be reaccredited by CRMEC and Health Education and Training Institute (HETI) in September 2021.
Accreditation report

Calvary Health Care ACT

Calvary Health Care ACT was visited by a survey team in October 2018 and awarded three year accreditation.
The CRMEC will visit the hospital in September 2021.
Accreditation report

Canberra Health Services

Canberra Health Services was awarded a three year accreditation in September 2017.  
The hospital is due to be reaccredited by CRMEC in September 2020.
Accreditation Report

Goulburn Base Hospital

Goulburn Base Hospital was awarded four year accreditation in May 2020.
The hospital is due to be reaccredited by CRMEC and HETI in May 2024.
Accreditation Report

Moruya Hospital

Moruya Hospital was awarded 3 year accreditation in 2019.
The hospital is due to be accredited by CRMEC and HETI in September 2022.
Accreditation Report